PassPrep

Uber rideshare driver

In 30 seconds
Right for you?

Highest gross of the three in busy cities, but per-trip rates shift, you carry passengers + liability, and there are no benefits.

Real pay

$21.18–29.28 (median $21.92)/hr gross

How to start
See the steps ↓
🗣️ On-the-job English· 6 lessons

1. What this job is

Drive passengers using your own 4-door vehicle. Requires a valid US driver's license, vehicle registration, and insurance — no special commercial license, but a higher bar than delivery-only gigs.
📊 The bigger picture
Outlook: +7% 2024–2034 (proxy occupations, BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook)Source: BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook · last checked 2026-07-09
Union coverage: Massachusetts recognized the first statewide rideshare-driver union in 2024 (independent-contractor status retained); coverage is minimal nationwide.Source: r/uberdrivers community post (AP-sourced) · last checked 2026-07-09

Rideshare has no clean government occupation code of its own. The employment figure above is a broad CPS proxy category ("driver/sales workers and truck drivers" combined, W-2), NOT a gig-exact/rideshare-exact count of Uber drivers.

Next: Is it right for you

2. Is it right for you

Pay reality

PROBABLE gross pay (per online hour): median ~$21.18–21.92/hr, top 25% ~$24.68/hr, top 10% ~$29.28/hr (Gridwise telemetry, approximate cents — exact figures are form-gated). After fuel, maintenance, and insurance, take-home is $15–18/hr — a 2018 EPI benchmark put comparable wages near $9.21/hr historically. You still owe 15.3% self-employment tax, nothing withheld. No benefits, no guaranteed hours; deadhead miles are unpaid. Minimum age and vehicle model-year requirements are now CONFIRMED and vary by city market (see Requirements below) — Uber sets these by city, not by state.

Schedule

On-demand, flexible, part-time or full-time. Instant cashout options are available. Per-trip rates and surge pricing vary constantly, and deadhead miles between rides are unpaid.

Pros & cons

Pros: highest gross-per-hour of the three gig options, especially in dense cities and surge; instant cashout options. Cons: per-trip rates keep changing and deadhead miles are unpaid; higher age bar than delivery (25 in most major cities); carries passengers — more liability and vehicle standards.

Who this fits

Best for an experienced driver with a qualifying 4-door vehicle who wants the highest gross-per-hour of the gig options and is comfortable carrying passengers and driving in dense/surge markets.
Gross pay (before your costs)
$21.18–29.28 (median $21.92)/hr gross

This is gross pay — it does NOT include fuel, vehicle wear, insurance, or self-employment tax (15.3%). Actual take-home varies a lot by person and place; estimate yours from the cost list below.

Costs you cover (estimate your own — not summed)
Fuel / gasVehicle wear & maintenanceInsuranceSelf-employment tax (15.3%)No benefits (no health / PTO / 401k)

PROBABLE: rideshare gross median ~$21.18–21.92/hr (per online hour); top 25% ~$24.68/hr, top 10% ~$29.28/hr. Gridwise's raw dollar figures are gated behind a form, so treat the exact cents as approximate until confirmed. Take-home of $15–18/hr is after fuel, maintenance, and insurance. Historical floor: a landmark EPI study (2018 data) put comparable Uber wages near $9.21/hr — cite as a dated benchmark, not a current figure. You also owe the full 15.3% self-employment tax, nothing withheld.

Per-trip rates and surge vary constantly; deadhead miles between rides are unpaid. No benefits, no guaranteed hours.

Source: Gridwise 2026 Annual Gig Mobility Report · last checked 2026-07-09

🧾 About taxes: 1099: you pay the full 15.3% self-employment tax yourself, nothing withheld.

$9–18/hr👥 Community-reported · not official· Self-reported by individual drivers on Reddit r/uberdrivers; one widely-discussed post reported a net around $14k/yr on 60-hr weeks after all costs — an extreme low case, not typical, but it shows how much costs can eat gross pay. Sample size and methodology vary by post, not a scientific survey.· 2026-07-09

Good as part-time

  • Great if you want the highest per-hour ceiling among the three gig options and can work occasional peak/surge hours.Source: Gridwise 2026 Annual Gig Mobility Report · last checked 2026-07-09

Good as full-time

  • Possible but hard: per-trip rates and deadhead miles keep income unpredictable, and full-time hours carrying passengers mean more liability and vehicle wear, with no benefits.Source: Uber Driver Requirements (official) · last checked 2026-07-09

⚠️ Difficulties workers report

How the work actually goes — from the people doing it. Not our verdict, not official.

False rider accusations happen, so drivers strongly advise running a dashcam to protect yourself.👥 Community-reported · not official· Source: Driver community (Reddit r/uberdrivers)· 2026-01-03
A false complaint (e.g. a rider falsely claiming you refused them) can trigger a deactivation investigation you must clear.👥 Community-reported · not official· Source: Driver community (Reddit r/uberdrivers)· 2026-05-02
Ratings are fragile: a single unfair 1-star (for arbitrary reasons like your music or a hard brake) can take a year to recover.👥 Community-reported · not official· Source: Driver community (Reddit r/uberdrivers)· 2026-01-15
Tip-baiting is common — a rider promises a cash tip for a stop, then never pays; drivers can later adjust the rating.👥 Community-reported · not official· Source: Driver community (Reddit r/uberdrivers)· 2026-03-03
When a rider demands something unsafe (e.g. more passengers than seatbelts) and then threatens a refund, drivers cancel for safety and report it first to protect their own standing.👥 Community-reported · not official· Source: Driver community (Reddit r/uberdrivers)· 2026-07-08
Sudden deactivation with little recourse is a running fear — it helped drive a statewide driver union effort in Massachusetts.👥 Community-reported · not official· Source: Driver community (Reddit r/uberdrivers)

🗣️ How much English you need

Conversational English

Rated from tasks and worker reports: you talk with riders throughout every trip, confirm names and destinations, handle route or stop requests, and your rating depends partly on that interaction — so day-to-day conversational English matters more than for delivery. No official English requirement.

📍 By state

NY

Extra requirements:

  • NYC rideshare requires a TLC driver's license: min age 19, a state license held ≥1 year, a 24-hour TLC course, a DMV-certified defensive-driving course, and a drug test — plus a TLC-licensed vehicle. Allow 1–3 months.Source: NYC TLC (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
Source: NYC TLC (official) · last checked 2026-07-09

CA

Extra requirements:

  • Under Prop 22, gig drivers get an earnings floor of 120% of the local minimum wage for engaged time (accept-to-dropoff, waiting excluded) plus $0.36 per engaged mile (2026, CPI-indexed). A healthcare stipend applies at ≥15 and ≥25 engaged hours/week. Uber also requires drivers to be at least 25 in California. Engaged-mile rate updated to $0.36 for 2026 (was $0.35). Healthcare stipend: ~$490/mo at the 100% (≥25 hr) tier; the ≥15 hr partial-tier dollar amount varies by source and is not published here.Source: CA Prop 22 overview (Uber / official) · last checked 2026-07-09
Source: CA Prop 22 overview (Uber / official) · last checked 2026-07-09
Next: Can you apply?

3. Can you apply?

CONFIRMED: minimum age varies by city market — 25 in Los Angeles, Houston, and Seattle; 23 in Miami; NYC rideshare requires a TLC driver license (age set by TLC rules). Vehicle model-year cutoff also varies by city — 16 years or newer in LA/NYC/Miami, 15 years or newer in Houston/Seattle/Portland. Background check, valid documents, and a qualifying 4-door vehicle are required. Uber sets these requirements by city market, not by state — other cities in the same state may differ.
  • CONFIRMED (2026-07-09): minimum age varies by city market — 25 in Los Angeles, Houston, and Seattle; 23 in Miami. In New York City, rideshare requires a TLC (Taxi and Limousine Commission) driver license, with age set by TLC rules rather than Uber's own page (Uber Eats delivery-only is 18+). Uber sets requirements by CITY market, not by state — other cities in the same state may differ.Source: Uber Driver Requirements (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • Uber reviews your driving record and criminal history; your SSN is validated against IRS/SSA. You must consent and pass before driving.Source: Uber Help Center (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • Driver's license, proof of vehicle registration, and proof of insurance in your name.Source: Uber Help Center (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • CONFIRMED (2026-07-09): 4-door with seating for 4+ passengers plus the driver. Model-year cutoff varies by city market — 16 years or newer in Los Angeles, New York City, and Miami; 15 years or newer in Houston, Seattle, and Portland.Source: Uber Driver Requirements (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • Uber's public page does not state an explicit work-authorization clause; it validates your Social Security Number, which is required for the background check.Source: Uber Help Center (official) · last checked 2026-07-09

🛑 Work authorization — read this first

Gig work paid on a 1099 (Amazon Flex / DoorDash / Uber) does not fit any F-1 student work authorization. On-campus work, CPT, and OPT all require an employer relationship — a 1099 independent-contractor gig has no employer and doesn't count. Casual gig driving without proper authorization is unauthorized employment and a status violation, even though the platform only requires an SSN to sign up — having an SSN does not make the work legal.

Source: USCIS Policy Manual, Vol. 2 Part F (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • CONFIRMED (2026-07-09): minimum age varies by city market — 25 in Los Angeles, Houston, and Seattle; 23 in Miami. In New York City, rideshare requires a TLC (Taxi and Limousine Commission) driver license, with age set by TLC rules rather than Uber's own page (Uber Eats delivery-only is 18+). Uber sets requirements by CITY market, not by state — other cities in the same state may differ.Source: Uber Driver Requirements (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • Uber reviews your driving record and criminal history; your SSN is validated against IRS/SSA. You must consent and pass before driving.Source: Uber Help Center (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • Driver's license, proof of vehicle registration, and proof of insurance in your name.Source: Uber Help Center (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • CONFIRMED (2026-07-09): 4-door with seating for 4+ passengers plus the driver. Model-year cutoff varies by city market — 16 years or newer in Los Angeles, New York City, and Miami; 15 years or newer in Houston, Seattle, and Portland.Source: Uber Driver Requirements (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • Uber's public page does not state an explicit work-authorization clause; it validates your Social Security Number, which is required for the background check.Source: Uber Help Center (official) · last checked 2026-07-09

🚙 Common vehicle fit

Fuel cost is a recurring complaint — drivers report gas eating a large share of fares, so many favor fuel-efficient cars they already own to keep more of each trip; this is cost-awareness, not a recommendation to buy a car.👥 Community-reported · not official· Source: Driver community (Reddit r/uberdrivers)

⏱️ How hard is it to apply

A week or two

  • You upload a license, vehicle registration, insurance, and a profile photo, then pass an online screening.
  • Some cities add steps that take longer — e.g. NYC requires a TLC license and a TLC-plated vehicle (allow 1-3 months).
Next: What to prepare

4. What to prepare

Sign up, upload documents, pass the background check and any vehicle inspection, then go online to accept trips.
  • Sign up at uber.com/drive or in the Uber Driver app.Source: Uber Driver Requirements (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • Upload your license, registration, and insurance; consent to the background check.Source: Uber Help Center (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  • After you pass the check and any vehicle inspection, go online to accept trips.Source: Uber Driver Requirements (official) · last checked 2026-07-09
  1. 1

    Sign up at uber.com/drive or in the Uber Driver app — tell Uber about yourself and your vehicle (requirements vary by city).

    Uber Driver Requirements (official)
  2. 2

    Confirm you meet your city's minimum driving age (new drivers must be 25 in many cities; 19+ may deliver on Uber Eats) and have held a US license for at least a year.

    Uber Driver Requirements (official)
  3. 3

    Provide a qualifying 4-door vehicle's information (vehicle and age rules vary by city — see the per-state/city notes).

  4. 4

    Upload a valid US driver's license.

  5. 5

    Upload proof of residency for your city or state.

  6. 6

    Upload proof of vehicle insurance (if you drive your own car).

  7. 7

    Add a driver profile photo that meets Uber's photo guidelines.

🗒️ Optional checklist — tick as you gather each item (saved on this device).

0 / 5 ready
Next: Apply step by step

5. Apply step by step

  1. 8

    Complete the online screening — consent to a driving-record (MVR) and criminal-history check.

    Uber Driver Requirements (official)
  2. 9

    Complete any city-specific requirements (e.g. NYC needs a TLC driver's license and a TLC-plated vehicle; some cities require a vehicle inspection).

    ⏱️ Takes about City-specific steps like NYC TLC can take about 1–3 months.

    NYC TLC (official)
Next: After you apply

6. After you apply

  1. 10

    Wait for the background check and document review to clear.

  2. 11

    Get approved — your Uber Driver account is activated.

  3. 12

    Download the Uber Driver app, set up your payout, then go online and accept trips.

    Uber Driver Requirements (official)
Next: Starting out & safety

7. Starting out & safety

🦺 Safety & injury facts

Workers' comp: 🔴 No — and this is structural, not bad luck. Workers' compensation is a state-run system built for employees: the U.S. Department of Labor sends workers injured at private companies to their state workers' compensation board, and that system is for people on an employer's payroll. As a 1099/self-employed worker you are outside it — if you are hurt on this job, there is no employer policy behind you. Some workers in this line buy their own occupational-accident or liability coverage; that is a personal purchase, not something the platform or client provides.Source: U.S. DOL — Workers' Compensation (state-administered; contact your state board) · last checked 2026-07-09
Common hazards: Traffic collisions (the dominant risk), plus passenger-related incidents — intoxicated or aggressive riders, sickness in the vehicle, and late-night driving fatigue.

Driving is a high fatal-injury exposure (motor-vehicle crashes are the #1 US work-fatality cause; transportation occupations ~13.6 deaths/100k FTE, BLS CFOI 2023). Carrying passengers adds liability — dashcams and clear boundaries help.

🗣️ On-the-job English

Study in your language — but these are the English phrases you actually say on the job.

📖 Full on-the-job English guide (by scenario) →

Picking up a rider

  • Hi, are you Sarah? I'm your Uber.Confirm the rider's name before they get in.
  • Could you tell me your PIN, please?Some markets use an arrival PIN to avoid the wrong rider.

Confirming the route

  • The app has your destination — do you have a preferred route?Confirm the destination and ask about the route.

Talking with the rider

  • No problem, I can add a stop in the app.If the rider wants a stop, add it in the app.
  • Please buckle up — it's the law.Ask riders to wear their seatbelt.

Stopping safely

  • I can't stop here — I'll pull over just ahead where it's safe.Explain you'll stop where it's safe, not in traffic.

Contacting Uber support

  • A rider left an item in my car — how do I return it?Report a lost item and ask how to return it.
  • The rider was sick in my car — I need to report a cleaning fee.Report a mess and claim a cleaning fee, with a receipt.

Ratings and safety

  • My rating dropped after a rider canceled — can you review it?Ask support to review an unfair rating drop.
  • I feel unsafe — I'm ending this trip now.You can end a trip if you feel unsafe.
Next: Your next step

8. Your next step

Next steps

Sign-ups through our link may earn us a referral fee; it never changes your pay or the numbers above. Compare against Amazon Flex or DoorDash (no passengers, lower entry bar) if carrying passengers isn't for you.

FAQ

Q: Is the minimum age really 21 everywhere? A: No — the minimum age varies by city market: 25 in Los Angeles, Houston, and Seattle; 23 in Miami; NYC rideshare instead requires a TLC driver license (age set by TLC rules). Q: How old can my car be? A: It depends on the city — 16 years or newer in LA, NYC, and Miami; 15 years or newer in Houston, Seattle, and Portland.

What the community says

Community-reported · unofficial
Overview · sourced summaryretrieved 2026-07-16

What the community says about driving for Uber — Community report, unofficial; a sourced summary, not a first-person review. On real earnings, drivers stress the gap between Uber's marketing and take-home: one calculated about $7/hour after car, gas, and insurance, versus the ~$20/hour figure the platform is said to claim, and a widely-shared example — "the passenger paid $72, I got $19.84" — is used to expose the platform's cut. High claims like "$250–400 a day" prompt reality-check threads and are treated as gross and exceptional (long hours, strong markets), while veterans note earnings have declined from past peaks (one recalled best weeks over $3k gross). On working conditions, the car, insurance, wear, and taxes fall on the driver (1099, no benefits or base pay), and pay/dispatch structures change often. On platform experience, the fare-vs-driver-pay gap and opaque commission are recurring complaints. On getting started, the barrier is low, but whether it's worth it depends on calculating your own net. Bottom line the community repeats: judge the job by net after expenses and with no benefits — never by the platform's advertised hourly or gross.

Sources (8)